Life is Hard. We All Need a Chicken to Help Make It Better…

… is the tag line of The Emotional Support Chicken pattern by The Knitting Tree… and I couldn’t agree more.

I’ve been seeing loads of posts on Instagram from so many people who’ve knitted their own Emotional Support Chickens in a myriad of colours, so I decided now’s the perfect time to make one for myself as I navigate my way through a completely unexpected divorce, house sale, and complete life change.

I’m allergic to pretty much all pets and can’t have a real one of my own to cuddle, so she’s a great substitute with her soft squishiness and strokeability, sitting there quietly with her watchful (slightly wonky!) blue eyes.

She’s knitted with a combination of leftover yarn: West Yorkshire Spinners Bluefaced Leicester DK in Umber (from my Xanthia Cardigan) for the main body; WYS The Croft Shetland DK in Tangwick Tweed (from my Renée Batwing Jumper) for the stripe at the back, comb and wattle; then two stripes of fluffy Wool and the Gang’s Feeling Good Yarn in Cinnamon Dust (from my Rumours Sweater), which is so soft and perfect for stroking; and then a bit of yellow Letlopi for her beak.

The pattern was very easy to follow and well explained, so would be great for a beginner knitter.

I’ve named her Phoenix, to represent hope, renewal, a fresh start, and as a symbol of life and better things to come, born from the experience of difficult times and challenging circumstances.

8 Comments

  1. So sorry for what you’re going through
    We have a CAVApoo who is non allergic and doesn’t shed any hair. If you want a bottomless well of love and support, I can’t recommend these breads highly enough x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, that’s really kind. I’d love a non allergic dog and your Cavapoo sounds amazing, but unfortunately work and finance circumstances mean I couldn’t make the commitment at the moment.

      Like

      1. so sorry

        if we lived closer to you I’d bring him over for cuddles

        love your posts and hope you get through this very soon x

        Liked by 2 people

      2. That’s a lovely idea, just a shame you’re not closer! Thank you, I hope to keep posting, even though it’s likely to be sporadic for a while. But I’ll get there and get back to it all properly in time xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sending you courage and resilience! These times are hard ( done it, been there) but keep going and I look forward to seeing your new posts. I love the emotional support chicken 🐓.
    Thank you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I went through a crappy time years ago and my friend always said ‘Everthinf will be alright in the end, if it’s not alright it’s not the end’ failing that but more wool !!! I really wish you and Phoenic all the best X

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment