A Cowl, a Hat, and a Little Fat Cat!

Aaaaaaages ago my lovely friend Wendy very kindly gave me a ball and a skein of beaUtiful Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend yarn. The colours are right up my street – she knows me well! – and it’s oh so soft and lightweight. I knew I wanted to make something special with it but wasn’t sure what, so it sat in my stash for quite some time.

I eventually got around to having a search and found that Manos del Uruguay also produce their own patterns, so I scrolled through them and fell in love with this Escama del Dragon Cowl.

I started knitting it while we were in Scotland back in March.

I didn’t get far, though, as I kept getting distracted by the incredible view from the HUGE window!

So I carried on knitting when we got home and absolutely LOVED how the dragon scale pattern emerged.

It’s going to be so cosy and soft to wear when autumn approaches.

Having only used the quantity in the ball for the Cowl, I then decided I’d ball up the skein and make a matching hat, and I found the Raven DK Beanie on Ravelry.

As with the Cowl, the pattern was very straight-forward but created a really lovely effect. There are three size options, Child; Adult S (17″ circumference); Adult Large (19″ circumference) and I made the largest size.

And then added a giant pompom to finish it off!

I still had some yarn left over, so it was time to make a little something for Wendy to thank her and I found this sweet cat pattern. I’ve named him Woolly Whiskers…!

So that’s my latest three makes, A Cowl, a Hat, and a Little Fat Cat!

Leave a comment