Itch to Stitch Autumn Antrim Dress

As soon as this pattern was released I *had* to have it and I knew exactly which fabric I wanted to make it in! It’s described as a ‘fit-and-flare knit dress with cup sizes and pockets, in other words a functional, comfortable and flattering dress all in one.’

I wanted this to be a dress for the autumn, so I chose this gorgeous Camellia Bouquet Cocoa Viscose Jersey from Lulou Designs and it’s perfect! I love the chocolate and orange colours, the bold pattern, and it drapes beautifully. (There’s also a navy and a red version if brown/orange isn’t your thing.)

Because it was destined to be an autumn dress, I decided to make it long sleeved. It’s an easy thing to do, and I simply continued the lines by 35cm tapering it towards the wrist, but I think the pattern would benefit from having this option included.

Size-wise, with a 3″ difference between my full and over bust, the cup size put me at a C, however on the body measurements chart that made me at a size 6, but I know from past experience with Itch to Stitch patterns that would be too big. So I opted instead for a 4D, graded to a 2 at the waist and the skirt. I’m currently 37″, 28″,39″, 28GG and 5’4″.

I had 2.5m of fabric (it’s 150cm wide) and the pattern pieces just fitted, with 3cm to spare, which I used to lengthen the skirt pieces by 1.5cm.

When it came to the neck binding on the bodice, once attached it’s supposed to fold right under to the inside as per 2. below… but I rather liked how it looked having it on show as per 1. and I didn’t want any top stitching, as it can go ‘wibbly’ on such drapey fabric, so that’s what I went with. Sewist’s Choice!

It’s described as an intermediate pattern and I think that’s probably because there’s quite a bit of gathering on the bodice and waistband, and because it’s designed for drapey fabrics, that can prove tricky. However I think an ambitious/confident beginner could master it, especially as Itch to Stitch instructions are excellent and walk you through every step of the way.

You just need to make sure you use LOTS of pins to keep everything in place and stop the fabric slipping all over the place.

I used power mesh for the inner waistband to help support the weight of the skirt.

Once I’d finished it and tried it on, I realised that I needed a little stitch at the cross over; I didn’t have any bra showing, but I just wanted to avoid the chances of that happening.

I have to say I absolutely love this dress, the fit and style are fantastic and I can highly recommend this brilliant pattern. Here’s how I styled it today with tan boots and bag and a suede jacket. Photos are taken at Cley Mill on the North Norfolk Coast…

Not quite sure what the hubby had just said to me…!

Here’s a close up of the bracelet I’m wearing. It’s by Marina e Susanna Sent who are sisters and third generation glass blowers on Murano, Venice. My necklace is one of theirs too and we stock their beautiful jewellery and sculptures in our art gallery, Gallery Plus in Wells-next-the-Sea.

5 Comments

  1. I love this dress, it looks so fabulous on you and the autumnal colours are gorgeous. I shall have to have a look at the pattern and fabric now!

    Like

Leave a comment