Super Speedy Stevie!

Blimey, this Tilly and the Buttons Stevie Tunic Dress was a quick make, although it did have its moments, but only due to my fabric choice!

I bought this gorgeous cotton/chambray from John Lewis the other day and, I have to admit, I had my fabric buying blinkers on… you know where you LURVE the look of the fabric and don’t really take too much notice of what it is exactly?!

When I went to wash it, I discovered it had a rather strange backing, a bit like hessian, but much lighter and softer, and the overall effect of the two layers felt ‘spongy’. I think it’s some kind of double gauze, but it’s odd! The backing frays like crazy, as it’s such a loose weave, so I overlocked the cut ends before washing it.

It was actually okay to sew with and it presses nicely (although some of the seams are a bit bulky because of the sponginess), but I made sure that I stay-stitched the neckline and overlocked the edges before I did anything else, which helped a lot.

(Hubby’s asked me to make him a proper shirt in the same fabric, but I really don’t think it’ll be up to the job, especially when it comes to collars and plackets…)

Stevie has been reviewed loads of times, so I won’t go into any detail. I made a size 4, graded to a 2 at the waist, and back out to a 3 from the hips down. I love the yoke and tie detail on the back and it’s really easy to sew – perfect for a beginner – I whizzed this up in a couple of hours while listening to Friday Night is Music Night on Radio 2 last night!

It fits a treat and doesn’t look TOO bulky on me as is, but I do like to add a belt for waist definition. It’s a bit baggy at the lower back and I’m considering adding some darts, but then I might not be able to get it on and off.

Here come all the pics… (complete with *hands on hip* pose – you can tell I don’t know what to do with my hands when there aren’t any pockets, haha!). I’ve paired it with a polo neck jumper and some jeggings for added warmth, but it’ll be equally lovely to wear on its own when the weather warms up.

4 Comments

  1. So cute! Love the fabric. No wonder hubbie wants a shirt! Maybe a woven tee pattern like Merchant and Mills have?
    I’m very curious about the big orange things….

    Like

Leave a comment